Serving O'Brien & Clay Counties

H-M-S board reorganizes for 2023-24 school year

New committee established to review fundraising requests

With the Nov. 7 election behind them, members of the Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn School Board held their 2023-24 reorganizational meeting on Monday.

Kari Van Es, who was elected as a write-in candidate for the Director District 1 seat, was sworn in as a board member. She lives in Sanborn with her husband and two children, and works at Prins Insurance.

Officers for the year are Scott Vollink, president, and Kyle McCarter, vice president.

Board subcommittee assignments are: Personnel – Becky Stoltz and Vollink; School Improvement Advisory Committee – Chad Lyman and Van Es; and Buildings and Grounds –...