Serving O'Brien & Clay Counties

Top 3 finishes for 3 O/HMS wrestlers

Pioneers finish eighth overall at Emmetsburg tourney

Okoboji/HMS crowned one champion and had two other wrestlers finish in the Top 3 during the Bob Roethler Invitational, hosted by Emmetsburg on Dec. 10.

The Pioneers’ Noah Strantz won the 160-pound title with a 5-3 decision in the championship match. Dylan Jones was runner-up at 126, losing a 14-0 major decision to the champion, and Tyce Hanson won a 9-4 decision in the third-place match at 132.

Three wrestlers from H-M-S competed. After an opening-round bye at 182 pounds, James Gellerman lost by fall in 3:30 to Morgan Dalen, of Estherville-Lincoln Central. He then pinned Kael Brandt, of Spence...