Serving O'Brien & Clay Counties

O'Brien County included in governor's disaster declaration

The derecho that barreled through northwest Iowa last week received official recognition from Gov. Kim Reynolds.

Four counties, including O'Brien County, were included in a disaster declaration issued by Reynolds on July 6. Also on the list were Emmet, Hancock and Winnebago counties. The governor's proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to, and recover from, the effects of the storm.

The July 5 onslaught left downed trees, damaged property, bent crops and power outages in its wake. In Hartley, electricity was out for approximately three hours. Several homes and vehicles...