Serving O'Brien & Clay Counties

Dieken, Evans cruise to primary victories

Republicans win party's nomination for statehouse

Two local Republicans earned decisive victories in Tuesday's primary election.

Zach Dieken, of rural Granville, and Lynn Evans, of Aurelia, won their party's nomination in Iowa House District 5 and Iowa Senate District 3, respectively. They move on to the November election and face almost certain victory, as no Democrats are running for either seat.

Evans, a former superintendent at Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn and Alta-Aurelia, defeated challenger Anthony LaBruna with 64.7 percent of the vote. He won majorities in every county in District 3, which includes all of Osceola, O'Brien and Buena Vista co...