Senior awards handed out at Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn


May 19, 2022


Several dozen organizations doled out thousands of dollars in scholarship awards to the H-M-S Class of 2022 on May 10.

American Legion Auxiliary of Post #288: Brenton Thomas

Sons of the American Legion, Hartley: Anthony Larson

Staff Sgt. Shane Koele Leadership Award: Connor Dodd

Staff Sgt. LeRoy Webster Leadership Award: Kaley Pearson

Onyx Lodge #419, Sanborn Masonic Lodge: Brenton Thomas

American Citizenship Award: Brenton Thomas

Social Studies Award: Wyatt Borden

Class of 1952 Scholarship Award: Brieann Van Sloten

Arlene Houston Memorial Scholarship: Connor Dodd

MercyOne Scholarship: Lydia Harders, Brenton Thomas and Keith DeBoer

Bernie Saggau Award: Brenton Thomas

AgState Scholarship: Anna Vander Veen

Faculty Award: Kaley Pearson

500 Card Club: Grace Dalen and Brieann Van Sloten

O'Brien County Farm Bureau Scholarship: Brenton Thomas

Instrumental Music Award: Brenton Thomas

U.S. Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award: Jasmine Lux

Florence Fahlenkamp Memorial: Keith DeBoer and Kaley Pearson

Vocal Music Award: Jasmine Lux

Hartley Lions Club Academic: Brenton Thomas

Hartley Lions Club Brad Hirt Memorial: Lydia Harders

Hartley Lions Club Technical/Community College: Kaley Pearson

Hartley Lions Club General Scholarship: Anna Vander Veen

Industrial Tech High Achievement Award: Coltin Mohni and Anthony Larson

H-M-S Athletic Booster Club Scholarship: Connor Dodd, Jasmine Lux and Kaley Pearson

H-M-S Athlete Award: Keith DeBoer and Jasmine Lux

Math Award: Kaley Pearson

Travis Raveling Memorial Scholarship: Mason Brinkman, Connor Dodd and Anthony Larson

Robert and Irene Voss Scholarship: Lily Rons and Brenton Thomas

Walter G. Ronnfelt Memorial Scholarship: Lydia Harders

Harding Family Scholarship: Jesse Garcia, Anthony Larson, Jasmine Lux and Anna Vander Veen

Iowa State Sheriff and Deputy Association Evelyn Covington Scholarship: Anna Vander Veen

NCC Maintainer Corporation of Iowa Scholarship: Wyatt Borden

Osceola Electric Cooperative Scholarship: Madison Otto

Trinity UCC Scholarship: Keith DeBoer, Kaley Pearson and Coltin Mohni

Northwestern College High Achievement: Jesse Garcia, Jasmine Lux and Gracie Schuler

English Award: Mason Brinkman

Science Award: Jasmine Lux

Melvin 313: Keith DeBoer, Connor Dodd and Megan Ten Kley

Cooperative Energy Company: Keith DeBoer

I.E.F. Women's Club: Kaley Pearson

O'Brien Cattlemen's Scholarship: Jackson Albert and Brenton Thomas

Cloy and Connie Olhausen Scholarship: Emily Otto


Best of Class: Emily Heneman

Governor's Scholarship Recognition Program: Emily Heneman

All-Academic Team NCC: Emily Heneman

Other Recognitions

North West REC Scholarship Program: Brenton Thomas

Central College Journey, Distinguished, Trustee & Presidential Scholarships: Lydia Harders

BVU Heritage, Visitation, CDS, Mabel Scherman Scholarships and Methodist Men's Scholarship: Christian Voss

C & B John Deere $25,000 Tuition Reimbursement Scholarship, DeKalb Agriculture Accomplishment Award: Jackson Albert

ILCC Alumni Dependent, High School Dual Credit, Dollars for Scholars – Tuition Paid In Full, Osceola Rural Water: Madison Otto

USD Coyote Commitment Distinction Scholarship, USD Grant, USD Valedictorian Scholarship: Emily Heneman

University of Iowa The Forevermore Scholarship, Iowa Rural Water Scholarship: Emily Otto

Graduating with Honors: Jesse Garcia, Jordan Ortega, Madison Otto, Brieann Van Sloten, Anthony Larson, Emily Otto, Cecilia Schilling and Bailey VerHelst

Graduating with Highest Honors: Jackson Albert, Connor Dodd, Jasmine Lux, Brenton Thomas, Wyatt Borden, Lydia Harders, Kaley Pearson, Anna Vander Veen, Mason Brinkman, Emily Heneman, Lily Rons, Justyn Vasquez-Alcantara, Nicholas Bronstad, Aiden Jensen, Megan Ten Kley, Christian Voss and Keith DeBoer

Citizenship with Honors: Wyatt Borden, Lydia Harders, Kaley Pearson, Mason Brinkman, Anthony Larson, Cecilia Schilling, Nick Bronstad, Jordan Ortega, Brenton Thomas, Connor Dodd, Madison Otto and Anna Vander Veen

Quiz Bowl: Aiden Jensen, Brenton Thomas and Christian Voss

National Honor Society: Keith DeBoer, Emily Heneman, Lily Rons, Christian Voss, Connor Dodd, Jasmine Lux, Brenton Thomas, Lydia Harders, Kaley Pearson and Anna Vander Veen

Spanish National Honor Society: Nicholas Bronstad, Lydia Harders, Jordan Ortega, Anna Vander Veen, Connor Dodd, Emily Heneman, Kaley Pearson, Jesse Garcia, Aiden Jensen and Lily Rons

Student Council Recognition: Brenton Thomas and Anna Vander Veen


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Sentinel Lg
Press Lg

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023