By Mike Petersen
Sports Editor & Staff Writer 

Kyle McCarter appointed to H-M-S board

Rural Melvin man fills vacancy in District 4


January 20, 2022


H-M-S Board Secretary April Hengeveld gives new Board Member Kyle McCarter his oath of office on Monday. He succeeds Scott Heetland, who resigned Jan. 1.

A rural Melvin man will fill the District 4 seat on the Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn school board.

Kyle McCarter was appointed to the seat on Monday. He was one of three individuals who expressed interest in filling the position. Preston DeBoer, of rural Hartley, and Sara Otto, of rural Ocheyedan, were others considered for appointment.

The other four board members voted by ballot to fill the position. President Scott Vollink did not state how many votes each candidate received.

McCarter immediately took his seat on the board. He replaces Scott Heetland who recently resigned after serving for 13...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Sentinel Lg
Press Lg

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023